Panguni Uthiram Mar 26-3-2013 - When is Panguni Uthram Festival in 2013?

Panguni Uthiram is celebrated on March 26, 2013 (Tuesday). Normally Uthiram Nakhsatram and Pournami coincide in the month of Panguni

The Uthiram Natchathiram begins at 10.32 am (Mar 26th) and ends at 10.30 am next day (Mar 27th)


Panguni Uthram Significance:


- On Panguni Uthiram, Lord Shiva - Goddess Parvathi Thirukalyanam (Celestial Wedding) will be held in Lord Shiva Temples.
- It is also the day when celestial wedding of Sri Aandaal (Kothai) and Sri Rangamannar took place
- In Tiruchendur - Sri Murugan Valli Thirukalyanam will be held during Panguni Uthiram
- In Palani, Thiruparangundram - 10 day festival will be held during Panguni Uthiram. Therottam will be held in Palani on Panguni Uthiram
In Mylapore the 10 day Panguni Festival will end on this day with the Thirukalyanam.
- In Vadapalani three day float festival will take place from Panguni Uthiram
- Many devotees fast on this day and take Kavadi, Pal Kuddam and do padayatra (walk) to Lord Muruga Temples.
- Chanting of devotional hymns and playing of percussion instruments by devotees can be seen in Temples. Special Homam will take place in temples

Palani Temple Festival Schedule:


20 March 2013- Wednesday - Kodiyetram
21 March 2013 - Thursday - Velli Kamadhenu Vahanam
22 March 2013 - Friday - Velli Aatu Kida Vahanam
23 March 2013 - Saturday - Thanga Mayil Vahanam
24 March 2013 - Sunday - Yaanai Vahanam
25 March 2013 - Monday - Thirukalyanam - Velli Ratham
26 March 2013 - Tuesday - Therottam
27 March 2013 - Wednesday - Thanga Guthirai Vahanam
28 March 2013 - Thursday - VelliPidari Mayil Vahanam
29 March 2013 - Friday - Kodi Irakkuthal

Nomenclature:
- Panguni is the name of Tamil Month (March - April)
- Uthiram is the name of the nakshatra.

Next Year Panguni Uthiram: In 2014, Panguni Uthiram is on April 13, 2014 (Sunday)

No comments: